NFF Representatives Betrayed Asisat Oshoala At 2019 CAF Awards Voting

No votes yet.
Please wait...
In documents released, CAF published the details of the voting process that saw to the emergence of Asisat Oshoala as the 2019 African Women’s Player of the Year for the fourth time while Sadio Mane was crowned the African Male Player of the Year.

It will be noted that for both the Men’s and Women’s Player of the Year, the first phase of voting was done by CAF Technical & Development Committee, legends, media and tech experts, coaches and captains of the associate countries of CAF while the voting for the second phase was done by head coaches/Technical Directors of CAF member associations and captains of CAF Member Associations.

The first phase of voting was done with 30 names on the shortlist for Men’s African Player of the Year and 10 in the women’s category while voting in the second phase was done with just the three finalists in both categories.

The three Nigerian media men that voted are Osasu Obayiuwana, a member of the NFF Reforms Committee who voted Oshoala third in his choice of five. His first choice was Malawian footballer with Jiangsu Suning in the Chinese Women’s Super League, Tabitha Chawinga.

Another Nigeria, Chisom Mbonu Ezeoke also voted Malawi’s Chawinga first, while Oshoala got her vote for a second place. The third Nigerian who voted on the platform of media is Tunde Adelakun who had Cote d’Ivoire’s Ange N’Guessan in the first position followed by Nigeria international Uchenna Kanu, South African midfielder Refiloe Jane, Oshoala and Kgatlana.

Among the legends, Perpetua Nkwocha, a former Super Falcons player voted Oshoala last, giving her just a point while giving her valuable five points to Cameroon’s Ajara Nchout. Despite the fact these Nigerians failed to vote for her as their first choice, Oshoala made up with votes from other countries to emerge winner with 351 votes as against 321, 247 votes recorded by Nchout and Kgatlana respectively.

Meanwhile, the Minister of Youth and Sports, Sunday Dare has eulogized Oshoala on her award as African Women’s Footballer of the year.

In a congratulatory message on twitter, Dare said “Congratulations to Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala, Barcelona star for winning the CAF Women footballer of the year award. She represents the best in Nigeria’s female soccer.

In the same vein, former sports minister, Solomon Dalung in his own message said “This award is a reflection of your resilience and contribution to the growth of football in the country. You’re truly a shining star. “To whom more is given, more is expected, so having won this award several times, you’re expected to set the tune of exemplary leadership in women’s football. I urge you to inspire and bring hope to young girls in Nigeria who see you as a role model.

No votes yet.
Please wait...

Click Here To Drop Your Comment

Advert Banner


No Comment Yet

Leave a comment